News. Sports, Music and All Round Entertainment

  • Breaking News

    Tuesday, 27 November 2018

    Gboyega Oyetola Sworn In As The Fifth Civilian Governor Of Osun State (Photos)

    Gboyega Oyetola who was declared the winner of the Osun Gubernatorial election which took place months ago has been sworn in Osun Governor. Gboyega Oyetola was sworn in as Osun Governor at exactly 12:55 pm by Oyebola Ojo, chief judge of Osun state. The inauguration ceremony which took place at the Osogbo Township Stadium, had Boss Mustapha, secretary to the government of the federation (SGF) who represented President Muhammadu Buhari; Adams Oshiomhole, national chairman of the APC; Bola Tinubu, a national leader of the APC in attendance.

    Other Governors who attended the event include; Rotimi Akeredolu, (Ondo), Abiola Ajumobi, (Oyo), Abdullahi, Ganduje (Kano), and Akinwunmi Ambode, (Lagos).

    The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, had declared Oyetola winner of the governorship election in the state.

    The INEC Returning Officer in the state, Prof. Joseph Adeola Afuwape had announced that Oyetola garnered 255,505 votes to defeat his main rival, Senator Ademola Adeleke of the PDP, who polled 255,023 votes.

    Oyetola is the fifth civilian governor of the state, created in August 1991. Before him were Isiaka Adeleke, who ruled between 1992 and 1993, Bisi Akande,(1999 to 2003), Olagunsoye Oyinlola (2003-2010) and Rauf Aregbesola(2010-2018).

    No comments:

    Post a Comment