News. Sports, Music and All Round Entertainment

  • Breaking News

    Saturday, 17 November 2018

    World Bank Grants LASU 7million Dollars Funding

    The Lagos State University (LASU) has emerged as the only state university amongst sixteen other Nigerian universities selected by World Bank as Centre of Excellence for Innovative and Transformative Education.
    Vice Chancellor, Lagos State University, Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun, made this known to the public at the maiden Long Service Award for the university’s Staff (teaching and non-teaching) who had served the university for 20 years and above.
    He stated that subsequent editions of the Long Service Award will aim at celebrating and appreciating staff of the university who had served 20 years and below.
    543 Staff of the University were rewarded for their services and unwavering support to the University at the event.
    In his remarks, Fagbohun stated that the Africa Centre of Excellence (ACE) three project is targeted at supporting more policy harmonisation initiatives in higher education across the African region.
    He said that LASU would get a minimum of $7 million as a centre for the project, which is renewable after four years following impressive output and performance.
    “I will start my remark on a high note. I am proud to announce to you that LASU is now an Africa Centre of Excellence
    “We were chosen from about 154 universities that applied for the centre, and after several rounds of assessments and screenings, we were selected as the only state university in the round.
    “We are going to be attracting foreign students and foreign faculties; so, we cannot afford to go on strike or allow any crisis. It is not about me, it is about all of us, as LASU will become what we all make it to become,” he said.
    Fagbohun urged the staff to collaborate with the university management in strategically managing the institution and sustaining it when the centre of excellence commences.
    According to him, the staff members are being celebrated and appreciated for their investment into the LASU project, with the hope that they would be motivated to do more.
    Also speaking, Chairman, Governing Council, LASU, Prof. Adebayo Ninalowo, noted that the happenings in LASU within the past three years were different from what it used to be, “as happiness is now the order of the day.”
    Ninalowo said the award was geared towards celebrating hard work and motivating the staff to be more productive.
    Other 16 universities selected by World Bank as a Centre of Excellence include:
    ACE in ICT Driven Knowledge Park, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.
    Centre for Oilfield Chemicals Research (CEFOR), University of Port-Harcourt; ACE for Genomics of Infectious Diseases, Redeemer’s University, Ede; and ACE on Neglected Tropical Diseases and Forensic Biotechnology, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
    ACE in Reproductive Health and Innovation went to University of Benin; Centre for Dryland Agriculture, Bayero University, Kano; and Centre for Food Technology and Research (CEFTER), Benue State University, Makurdi.
    ACE in Applied Informatics and Communication was given to Covenant University, Ota; Centre for Public Health and Toxicological Research (PUTOR), University of Port Harcourt; ACE for Sustainable Power and Energy Development, University of Nigeria Nsukka.
    ACE on Technology Enhanced Learning (ACETEL) was given to National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN); and ACE in Future Energies and Electrochemical Systems (ACE-FUELS), Federal University of Technology, Owerri.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment